Catching Up with Former Editor: Margaret Thi

Former Temple City Voice editor reflects and shares about her involvement with the Voice.

Written by DERRICK CHANG / Published July 6, 2012  

Former Temple City Voice Editor Margaret Thi recently spoke to the Voice, sharing her past experience and discussing her current career path.

A three-year member of the Voice, Thi first became involved as a junior at Temple City High School. She joined the organization after working with the founder, Matthew Wong, who was starting the program.

“I thought TCV would be a good opportunity for me to improve as a writer and also be more community-conscious,” she said.

Her tenure as editor and editor emeritus brought on new, unexpected challenges.

“It was definitely not what I expected in regards to the amount of work, time, and dedication it took to accomplish my tasks,” Thi said. “More of my time was spent on engaging in community events and attending city council and school board meetings.”

The experience of connecting with the community allowed her to grow as a writer and an informed citizen, Thi stated.

“I definitely feel more connected to the community now than I did before I was a part of the Voice,” said Thi, “I feel like I understand how the city government works now, which I must admit, I knew nothing about in high school until after I started attending the meetings on a regular basis and also when I was scouting news in Temple City for some article material.”

While Thi studied at the University of California, San Diego, she also continued to mentor and work with the staff members of the Voice during the summer. Occasionally, she helps to train the future leaders of the organization, something she does enjoy.

“I also had a lot of fun getting to know fellow staff members better and seeing them grow into better writings as the years went by.”

She recently earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology and is now pursuing a Masters of Education and teaching credential at the University of California Los Angeles.

“I love teaching,” she said. “In college, I had opportunities to work with young children, which is what I hope to do after I receive my degree and teaching credential.”

Leave a Reply

