Catching Up With Former Staff Jimmy Du

Sophomore Jimmy Du is currently studying at Stanford University.

Written by JUSTIN LIN / Published February 17, 2012

A current sophomore in college at Stanford University, Jimmy Du served as a staff writer for the Temple City Voice from 2009 to 2010.

According to Du, he enjoyed Temple City Voice because it involved him with a variety of activities and introduced him to important and interesting people.

“I was able to meet new people in a new environment,” said Du. “I was able to re-examine my perspectives on life, and I developed character.”

Du also learned much about himself through Temple City Voice.

“I met a lot of people, learned more about myself, my priorities, and my strengths and weaknesses.”

Throughout high school, Du was involved extensively in many activities. He played varsity tennis on the high school tennis team, competed at the Science Bowl for Quantum Physics Club and taught at Kumon, an after school tutoring program.

Du is very grateful that he was able to serve Temple City Voice, as it helped him greatly while pursuing his studies at Stanford.

“I am always glad that I had joined TCV senior year,” said Du. “If I hadn’t, I’m sure that I would not be the same person whom I am now.”

Despite being an honors student at Temple City High School, Du acknowledges that there is much more to learning than just academic excellence.

“In college, I was also placed into a new environment it did help me gain more maturity and character, which I believe are just as important as, if not more than, academic IQ.”

Leave a Reply

