Summer Beckons to Weary High School Seniors

With summer right around the corner, graduating seniors are looking forward to a much needed hiatus.

Written by LOSA MERU / Published June 3, 2011

As the class of 2011 wraps up their senior year, each member has a different plan for their last summer break before college.

The last day of school is June 16 and the graduation ceremony is the day after.

Most seniors will have approximately three months of free time before many colleges and universities start up again in the fall.

Senior Grace Tran is excited about her chance to fully experience her freedom for the first time in 4 years.

“I’m looking forward to hanging out with my friends and just making this the best summer ever,” she said. “This is the first summer where I don’t have summer school since 7th or 8th grade.”

Along with wanting to enjoy her summer, Tran also expressed interest in wanting to find a job.

“It’s going to be chill…I want to get a job,” she said. “I want to make some money.”

Senior Kevin Gong also expressed the same interest, but with a more serious tone. When asked what he would be doing this summer, he stated that earning money would be a necessity.

“It doesn’t matter where I work. I need the money,” he said. “If I stay home all day, I’ll have nothing else to do. I want to make myself as prepared as I can for the future.”

While some seniors are interested in meeting up with friends and finding jobs, another senior looks forward to the beginning of his future career.

“I don’t get a summer,” said Senior Clarence Huang, who was recently accepted into the prestigious culinary arts college, Le Cordon Bleu. “Mine is only two weeks long, because my school starts in July…I can just start cooking earlier, so it’s a lot of fun.”

However Senior Andrew Jennex, is content to let the chips fall where they may.

“I don’t know what I’m looking forward to this summer,” he said. “It feels like just another summer to me…I don’t really plan in advance; I’m just one of those guys that goes, ‘Hey, want to do something?’ ‘Alright, let’s go.’ And take(s) off from there.”

Regardless of what the class of 2011 plans to do this summer, one thing is clear: each one is going to cherish whatever types of summer memories they decide to create.

Leave a Reply

