Four Re-appointed to Commission Posts

City Council votes 3-2 to re-appoint commissioners.

Written by RAYMOND TRAN / Published April 29, 2011 

Four city commissioners have been re-appointed to the Parks and Recreation and Planning commissions.

The City Council voted 3-2 on Tuesday, June 15, 2010 to re-appoint the following individuals: Chris Goad (Parks and Recreation), Peggy Miller (Parks and Recreation), Tom O’Leary (Planning), and Jerry Seibert (Planning).

Council members Cynthia Sternquist and Vincent Yu voted against the appointments.

“I think we need to continue this item, the appointment, or alternatively, I would move to open up the positions for application,” Yu said, explaining his decision.

Earlier, a Temple City resident voiced concerns that the City Council did not conduct enough publicity for the appointments.

According to City Clerk Mary Flandrick, the commissioners’ posts are on display outside City Hall. The upcoming vacancies are not published in the newspapers unless the City Council directs her to do it.

Mayor Fernando Vizcarra suggested that the notices be post two months ahead, in response to Flandrick’s comments.

“I don’t see a compelling reason to do that,” Mayor Pro Tempore Tom Chavez said, in response to Yu’s suggestion to delay the appointments.

Councilman Carl Blum agreed, saying the City Council does the appointments the same way every year.

Yu then motioned to delay making the appointments Tuesday evening. His motion was supported by Sternquist, but it failed 2-3.

A motion to confirm the current commissioners was made by Blum and seconded by Chavez. It passed 3-2.

Parks and Recreation Commissioner Peggy Miller, who was appointed in 2009, was the only commissioner to include a letter stating why she wanted to continue serving the City Council.

In her letter, she cited five reasons for her re-appointment. Among the reasons, she includes her leadership abilities and ethics.

“I have a strong respect and admiration for our Parks and Recreation staff,” she said. “I believe teamwork and the power of effective communication benefit all stakeholders.”

The terms for the commissioners are two years. Each will serve until June 2012.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s