Temple City Votes to Keep Incumbents

Blum, Sternquist, Vizcarra beat out three challengers.

Written by MATTHEW WONG / Published March 11, 2011

Temple City voters expressed their satisfaction with the current City Council Tuesday by choosing to reelect Mayor Fernando Vizcarra, as well as Councilmembers Carl Blum and Cynthia Sternquist.

Unofficial results show that Blum, who was appointed to the City Council in 2010, received the most votes. Sternquist came in second, and Vizcarra came in third.

Planning Commissioner Manuel Valenzuela III, the youngest of the six candidates, came in fourth. Starene Cruse and Nicholas Lisk placed fifth and sixth, respectively.

Blum got 1960 votes, or 26 percent; Sternquist took in 1944, or 25.8 percent; and Vizcarra received 1642 votes, or 21.7 percent.

Valenzuela received 1118 votes, or 14.8 percent. Cruse got 588 votes, or 7.8 percent, while Lisk got 282, or 3.7 percent.

According to City Clerk Mary Flandrick, 209 provisional ballots remain to be verified.

As usual, more vote-by-mail ballots were counted than those who voted at polling stations.

The unofficial voter turnout is 16.7 percent, according to Flandrick.

In the previous City Council election, voter turnout was around 20.2 percent. In 2007, the turnout was around 18.7 percent.

Blum, Sternquist, and Vizcarra will now serve until March 2015.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s