Catching Up with Former Staff: Melanie Thi

Former Senior Editor (renamed from Assistant Editor-in-Chief) Thi now beginning her second year at the University of California, Irvine.

Written by VINCENT WEI / Published September 17, 2010

After finishing a year of college, former Art Manager and Senior Editor Melanie Thi briefly returns from the University of California, Irvine and reminisces over her time on staff with the Voice.

Four years ago when she was merely an incoming sophomore at Temple City High School, Thi joined the Voice as an artist and slowly worked her way up to the Senior Editor position by her senior year. She was introduced to the Voice by Matthew Wong, founder of the Voice. “I really enjoyed the years that I have been a part of the Voice,” Thi said. “I saw this as an opportunity to learn more about the city. I feel like I definitely became more aware as a citizen of this city.”

Even though Thi graduated from Temple City High School in 2009, she continues to work with staff members during the summer.

“Through this experience, it has allowed me to not only bond with other members of the TCV staff but it has also helped me find a community within our greater community,” Thi said.

This fall, Thi will be returning to UCI for her second year. Currently she is taking classes on Business Economics; however, she wants to switch her major to either Urban Studies or Sociology.

“I am also involved in a college ministry called CCM,” Thi said, “which stands for the Crossroads Campus Ministry.”

So far the hardest part of freshman year for Thi in college is managing her time. “The hardest changes I had to adapt to in college would be the workload as well as setting times aside to have fun with my friends and meet new people, Thi said, “This takes careful management of my schedule.”

“The greatest part about college is meeting new people in college from so many different backgrounds and culture,” Thi said,” and also, on my spare time I like playing volleyball with some people I met in Irvine.”

When asked after her future, Thi promptly responded by saying she’s not sure yet. Whatever her future is going to be like, one can tell that it will be a bright one.

Leave a Reply

