Up Close And Personal With Mayor Judy Wong

With a few remaining months before her term as Mayor of Temple City ends, Judy Wong sits down with the Temple City Voice to reflect on her past 5 years on the City Council.

What are your plans for the remaining months you serve as mayor?

I hope I can do something for the library. Unlike Arcadia’s and Monterey Park’s computerized libraries, the Temple City library is really old and needs to be renovated. [The City] cannot renovate because there is no budget.

Name some highlights of being a mayor.

I was able to represent Temple City for inter-city functions, which recognizes Temple City as a city. What I’m really proud of is our councilmembers that are very diverse; each one of us holds different opinions.

What do you think is the biggest problem Temple City faces, and how would you propose to solve it?

One thing I’m worried about is wedding shop prostitution locations, which were false accusations. (Previously, there were rumors that prostitution occurred in wedding shops, especially owned by Asians, erupted in Temple City.) I wanted to speak together with Herbert Chan, President of the Chamber of Commerce, but the deputy already [solved it] before me.

What do you do for fun? What are your hobbies?

I like karaoke, ballroom dancing, chatting with other ladies, and watching good entertainment. I am mainly involved in Sister Clubs and the Chinese Association, and I think that the Red Cross is the most efficient group.

What kind of mayor do you think Temple City needs? Did you meet your own standard(s)?

[Temple City needs] a person who can accept [diversity] and multi-ethnic cultures and a person who has a big heart. I think I am open-minded and I accept multi-ethnic cultures.

What advice do you want to give to the future mayor?

Be open-minded. I think that’s the most important thing.

This interview was written by Margaret Thi. It was published in the Temple City Voice on January 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

